Always Be The Winners Movie Reviews With Cast Detail

Always Be The Winners Movie Reviews With Cast Detail

Always be the Winners is a Hong Kong comedy film, released during China’s New Year period in 1994 in order to commemorate the holidays. The movie was directed by Jacky Pang, and stars Tony Leung Chiu-Wai; Tony Leung Ka-fai; Eric Tsang; Sandra Ng; Charine Chan and Ekin Cheng.

Plotline for Always be the Winners

Always be the Winners has Third Master Sha, played by Tony Leung Chiu-Wai, as the successor of a very powerful gambling family who must face Yam Tin-sau, played by Ekin Cheng, the offspring of a rival gambling family, in order to protect his family’s honoured name. In an attempt to ensure his success, the so-called king of China’s gamblers, Hui Man-lung, is brought in to help.

Cast and Characters for Always be the Winners

  • Third Master Sha: Tony Leung Chiu-Wai
  • Hui Man-lung, the China King of Gamblers: Tony Leung Ka-fai
  • Nanny: Eric Tsang
  • Lulu Sha: Sandra Ng
  • Yam Tin-sau: Ekin Cheng
  • Sha’s third sister: Charine Chan
  • Sha’s second sister: Au Gan
  • Scarlet Pimpernel: Teresa Mak
  • Nightclub patron: Lo Hung
  • Photographer: Keni Tanigaki

Always be the Winners Loses

Always be the Winners proves that even really good actors fall victim to bad movies. Its humour is insipid and predictable, and fails to hit the mark almost every time. The plotline is weak; the stories are feeble; the characters are depressingly two-dimensional and the jokes fall flat.

Always be the winners suffers from the lack of a coherent plot, and its comedy concepts are a hotchpotch of incomprehensible ideas that are very poorly realised. It can be summed up as an ill-conceived New Year comedy and has made serious inroads to garnering the award for the worst movie of 1994 –an impressive feat considering that there were more than 150 films released in Hong Kong for that year, many of which fell flat in terms of originality and comedy.

More than 20 years on top Australian slots online games we can say that no acting careers were derailed as a result of this film, a surprising fact when one sits down to view Always be the Winners in its entirety. Tony Leung Chiu-wai, in fact, has gone from strength to strength: winning the Cannes Film Festival Best Actor award for his Mood for Love role, along with seven Hong Kong Film Awards and three Golden Horse Film Awards in total.

Tony Leung Chiu-wai in fact collaborated with Wong Kar Wai for a total of seven movies, with three of these officially elected to take part in the Cannes Film Festival: 1997’s Happy Together; In the Mood for Love in 2000; and 2046 from the year 2004.

Tony Leung Chiu-wai has also starred in three films that ended up winning the Venice Film Festival Golden Lion: A City of Sadness in 1989; Cyclo in 1995, just one year after the mess Always be the Winners turned out to be; and Lust, Caution in 2007, an Ang Lee vehicle. He also starred in Hero, which went on to be nominated for both Academy and Golden Globe awards.